Climate Action Minister Leonore Gewessler. Copyright by BMK_Viktoria Miess

Welcome to the Ecolabel family!

38 companies from the education, tourism, financial products, printing, car sharing, construction and housing sectors received the Austrian Ecolabel from Climate Action Minister Leonore Gewessler on 16 January.

For more than 30 years, the Austrian Ecolabel has been the most important state-approved environmental seal in Austria and stands for a consistent orientation towards environmental protection and sustainability. Only those offers from the areas of products, tourism, education, art and culture as well as green meetings & events that fulfil a series of environmental criteria such as quality and durability receive the award for a period of four years. For this purpose, the businesses submit to an external audit in which compliance with the respective Ecolabel guidelines is closely monitored. 13 of the awarded companies were also presented with the European equivalent, the EU Ecolabel.

many new licensees. Copyright by BMK_Viktoria Miess.

"More and more companies and businesses are switching to a climate- and resource-friendly way of doing business. This is good and important. Because a climate-friendly way of doing business has clear competitive advantages. It also attracts more customers and is good for the climate. I am very pleased that today we can welcome 38 new licensees of the Ecolabel and the EU Ecolabel into this circle of pioneers," said Climate Protection Minister Leonore Gewessler at the award ceremony.

Sustainability in tourism

More than one third of the companies honoured at the award ceremony come from the tourism sector; the businesses are from Vorarlberg, Tyrol, Upper Austria, Salzburg, Styria and Vienna. Particularly noteworthy is the hotel chain harry's home, which received both the Austrian Ecolabel for accommodation establishments and the EU Ecolabel for several locations - Bischofshofen, Dornbirn, Hart bei Graz, Vienna, Telfs, Linz-Urfahr and Steyr.

Selfie-time with the minister. Copyright by BMK_Viktoria Miess.

Education for a sustainable future

The education sector was also strongly represented. As bearers of the Austrian Ecolabel, the 10 award-winning organisations not only stand for educational quality. Through educational and ecological measures, they ensure that competences for a sustainable development of personality and society are at the centre of learning. Among the new licensees are BFI Salzburg, ibis acam from Vienna and the Alpine Club Edelweiss.

At the end of 2022, more than 4,800 products from around 500 companies had already been awarded the Austrian Ecolabel. Likewise, around 500 companies from the tourism, gastronomy and art and culture sectors are bearers of the sustainability seal. In the event sector, more than 100 companies have been certified with the Ecolabel for Green Meetings & Events. More than 50 educational institutions are also among the licensees; the number of Ecolabel kindergartens and schools throughout Austria is around 170. In Austria, around 760 products from more than 100 companies have been awarded the EU Ecolabel; in the tourism sector, more than 100 accommodation and camping establishments bear this European Ecolabel.

Bright and engaged entrepreneurs. Copyright by BMK_Viktoria Miess.

Overview of the new licensees*

Category Tourism

  • Austria Trend Hotel Congress Innsbruck (Innsbruck, Tyrol)
  • Boutique Hotel Das Tigra (1st district, Vienna) - Ecolabel & EU Ecolabel
  • Brandlhof of the Folk Culture of Lower Austria (Krems, Lower Austria)
  • harry's home Bischofshofen (Salzburg) - Ecolabel & EU Ecolabel
  • harry's home Dornbirn (Vorarlberg) - Ecolabel & EU Ecolabel
  • harry's home Hart bei Graz (Styria) - Ecolabel & EU Ecolabel
  • harry's home Linz-Urfahr (Upper Austria) - Ecolabel & EU Ecolabel
  • harry's home Steyr (Upper Austria) - Ecolabel & EU Ecolabel
  • harry's home Telfs (Tyrol) - Ecolabel & EU Ecolabel
  • harry's home Wien Millennium Tower (20th district, Vienna) - Ecolabel & EU Ecolabel
  • Hotel & Wirtshaus Post (St. Johann, Tyrol) - Ecolabel & EU Ecolabel
  • Kulturhaus Brotfabrik - Caritas of the Archdiocese of Vienna - Help in Need (10th district, Vienna)
  • Landhaus Edelweiss (St. Leonhard/Pitztal, Tyrol) - Ecolabel & EU Ecolabel
  • Seecamping Appesbach (St. Wolfgang, Upper Austria) - Ecolabel & EU Ecolabel
  • ÖBB Infrastruktur AG Educational Campus St.Pölten (St. Pölten, Lower Austria)

Category Education

  • Academy of the Austrian Beekeepers' Association (1st district, Vienna)
  • Alpenverein Edelweiss - Education (1st district, Vienna)
  • Mühlgraben Kindergarten (Mühlgraben, Burgenland)
  • BFI Salzburg (Salzburg City)
  • Chemie Fort- und Weiterbildung (Graz, Styria)
  • ibis acam Bildungs GmbH - Geiselbergstraße Head Office (11th district, Vienna)
  • Land schafft Leben e.V. Vienna location (1st district, Vienna)
  • Perspektive Landwirtschaft - Education Department (1st district, Vienna)
  • Private kindergarten Die Wienerbergzwerge (10th district, Vienna)
  • Zweihorn Academy (Fels am Wagram, Lower Austria)

Category Products

  • Donau Versicherung AG Vienna Insurance Group (1st district, Vienna) - Financial Products
  • Franklin Templeton International Services S.a.r.l. (Luxembourg) - Financial Products
  • Haltmeyer GmbH (13th district, Vienna) - Printing - EU Ecolabel
  • IFA Institut für Anlageberatung AG (Linz/Upper Austria) - Financial products
  • Pematex International GmbH (Gramastetten/Upper Austria) - Building & Living
  • Porsche Bank AG (City of Salzburg) - Mobility
  • Sto Ges.m.b.H. (Villach/Carinthia) - Building & Living
  • Styria Print Group Graz & St. Veit (Graz, Styria) - Printing - EU Ecolabel
  • Vienna Tourist Board - Vienna City Card (3rd district, Vienna) - Mobility

Category Meetings & Events

  • Emilie Kleinszig Events (7th district, Vienna)
  • Event Services RS GmbH (Wattens, Tyrol)
  • SoFresh Touristik GmbH (St. Johann/Haide, Styria)
  • White Elephant Events e.U. (Graz, Styria)

*If not stated separately, the Austrian Ecolabel has been awarded.


A reliable orientation aid in environmental and climate protection for more than 30 years.
For Austrians, the Austrian Ecolabel is a guarantee for environmentally friendly products and contributes to easier environmentally friendly purchasing. Products and services that receive this award meet strict environmental criteria that have to be proven by an independent overall assessment.

There are already a total of 1,300 licensees from a wide range of sectors, which underlines the dynamic development and high acceptance of the eco-label. In the tourism sector, the Austrian Ecolabel stands for consistent sustainable business management in excellent hotels, catering establishments, campsites and mountain refuges as well as in a wide variety of events organised as Green Meeting or Green Event. Sustainable tourism regions as well as travel offers round off the portfolio in the tourism sector. Award-winning schools, kindergartens and educational institutions in turn stand for a new quality in educational work. Climate protection and sustainability in practice are important to all of them. In the field of art and culture, theatres, museums, cinemas as well as film and TV productions can be certified with the Ecolabel. On the European market, the EU Ecolabel has served as a uniform label for environmentally friendly products, services and tourism businesses for 30 years.

Klimaschutzministerin Leonore Gewessler. Copyright by BMK_Viktoria Miess.
© BMK_Viktoria Miess

Willkommen in der Umweltzeichen-Familie!

38 Unternehmen aus den Branchen Bildung, Tourismus, Finanzprodukte, Druck, Carsharing sowie Bauen und Wohnen erhielten am 16. Jänner von Klimaschutzministerin Leonore Gewessler das Österreichische Umweltzeichen.

Seit mehr als 30 Jahren ist das Österreichische Umweltzeichen das wichtigste staatlich geprüfte Umweltsiegel in Österreich und steht für eine konsequente Orientierung an Umweltschutz und Nachhaltigkeit. Die Auszeichnung erhalten für die Nutzungsdauer von vier Jahren nur jene Angebote aus den Bereichen Produkte, Tourismus, Bildung, Kunst und Kultur sowie Green Meetings & Events, die eine Reihe an Umweltkriterien wie Qualität und Langlebigkeit erfüllen. Die Betriebe unterziehen sich dafür einer externen Überprüfung, in der die Einhaltung der jeweiligen Umweltzeichen-Richtlinie genaustens kontrolliert wird. 13 der ausgezeichneten Unternehmen wurde auch das europäische Pendant, das EU Ecolabel, überreicht.

viele neue und
© BMK_Viktoria Miess

„Immer mehr Unternehmen und Betriebe stellen auf eine klima- und ressourcenschonende Wirtschaftsweise um. Das ist gut und wichtig. Denn eine klimafreundliche Wirtschaftsweise hat klare Wettbewerbsvorteile. Das zieht auch mehr Kundschaft an und tut dem Klima gut. Ich freue mich sehr darüber, dass wir heute 38 neue Lizenznehmer des Umweltzeichens und des EU Ecolabels in diesen Kreis der Vorreiter aufnehmen können“, so Klimaschutzministerin Leonore Gewessler im Rahmen der Verleihung.

Nachhaltigkeit im Fremdenverkehr

Mehr als ein Drittel der bei der Verleihung ausgezeichneten Unternehmen kommt aus dem Tourismusbereich, die Betriebe stammen aus Vorarlberg, Tirol, Oberösterreich, Salzburg, Steiermark und Wien. Besonders hervorzuheben ist die Hotelkette harry’s home, die für mehrere Standorte – Bischofshofen, Dornbirn, Hart bei Graz, Wien, Telfs, Linz-Urfahr und Steyr – sowohl das Österreichische Umweltzeichen für Beherbergungsbetriebe als auch das EU Ecolabel erhielt.

Ein
© BMK_Viktoria Miess

Bildung für eine nachhaltige Zukunft

Ebenfalls stark vertreten war der Bildungsbereich. Die 10 ausgezeichneten Organisationen stehen als Träger des Österreichischen Umweltzeichens nicht nur für Bildungsqualität. Sie stellen durch pädagogische und ökologische Maßnahmen sicher, dass Kompetenzen für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung von Persönlichkeit und Gesellschaft im Mittelpunkt des Lernens stehen. Unter den neuen Lizenznehmern sind unter anderem das BFI Salzburg, ibis acam aus Wien sowie der Alpenverein Edelweiß.

Zu Jahresende 2022 waren bereits mehr als 4.800 Produkte von rund 500 Betrieben mit dem Österreichischen Umweltzeichen ausgezeichnet. Ebenfalls sind rund 500 Unternehmen aus den Bereichen Tourismus, Gastronomie sowie Kunst und Kultur Träger des Nachhaltigkeitssiegels. In der Veranstaltungsbranche sind mehr als 100 Betriebe mit dem Umweltzeichen für Green Meetings & Events zertifiziert. Mehr als 50 Bildungseinrichtungen zählen ebenfalls zu den Lizenznehmern, die Anzahl der Umweltzeichen-Kindergärten und Schulen liegt österreichweit bei rund 170. In Österreich sind rund 760 Produkte von mehr als 100 Unternehmen mit dem EU Ecolabel ausgezeichnet, im Tourismusbereich tragen mehr als 100 Beherbergungs- bzw. Campingbetriebe dieses Europäische Umweltzeichen.

Strahlende und engagierte Unternehmer:innen. Copyright by BMK_Viktoria Miess.
© BMK_Viktoria Miess

Die neuen Lizenznehmer im Überblick*

Kategorie Tourismus
• Austria Trend Hotel Congress Innsbruck (Innsbruck, Tirol)
• Boutique Hotel Das Tigra (1. Bezirk, Wien) – Umweltzeichen & EU Ecolabel
• Brandlhof der Volkskultur Niederösterreich (Krems, Niederösterreich)
• harry's home Bischofshofen (Salzburg) – Umweltzeichen & EU Ecolabel
• harry’s home Dornbirn (Vorarlberg) – Umweltzeichen & EU Ecolabel
• harry’s home Hart bei Graz (Steiermark) – Umweltzeichen & EU Ecolabel
• harry's home Linz-Urfahr (Oberösterreich) – Umweltzeichen & EU Ecolabel
• harry’s home Steyr (Oberösterreich) – Umweltzeichen & EU Ecolabel
• harry’s home Telfs (Tirol) – Umweltzeichen & EU Ecolabel
• harry’s home Wien Millennium Tower (20. Bezirk, Wien) – Umweltzeichen & EU Ecolabel
• Hotel & Wirtshaus Post (St. Johann, Tirol) – Umweltzeichen & EU Ecolabel
• Kulturhaus Brotfabrik - Caritas der Erzdiözese Wien – Hilfe in Not (10. Bezirk, Wien)
• Landhaus Edelweiss (St. Leonhard/Pitztal, Tirol) – Umweltzeichen & EU Ecolabel
• Seecamping Appesbach (St. Wolfgang, Oberösterreich) – Umweltzeichen & EU Ecolabel
• ÖBB Infrastruktur AG Bildungscampus St.Pölten (St. Pölten, Niederösterreich)

Kategorie Bildung
• Akademie des Österreichischen Imkerbundes (1. Bezirk, Wien)
• Alpenverein Edelweiss – Bereich Bildung (1. Bezirk, Wien)
• Alterserweiterter Kindergarten Mühlgraben (Mühlgraben, Burgenland)
• BFI Salzburg (Salzburg Stadt)
• Chemie Fort- und Weiterbildung (Graz, Steiermark)
• ibis acam Bildungs GmbH – Zentrale Geiselbergstraße (11. Bezirk, Wien)
• Land schafft Leben e.V. Standort Wien (1. Bezirk, Wien)
• Perspektive Landwirtschaft – Bereich Bildung (1. Bezirk, Wien)
• Privatkindergarten Die Wienerbergzwerge (10. Bezirk, Wien)
• Zweihorn Akademie (Fels am Wagram, Niederösterreich)

Kategorie Produkte
• Donau Versicherung AG Vienna Insurance Group (1. Bezirk, Wien) – Finanzprodukte
• Franklin Templeton International Services S.a.r.l. (Luxemburg) – Finanzprodukte
• Haltmeyer GmbH (13. Bezirk, Wien) – Druck – EU Ecolabel
• IFA Institut für Anlageberatung AG (Linz/Oberösterreich) – Finanzprodukte
• Pematex International GmbH (Gramastetten/Oberösterreich) – Bauen & Wohnen
• Porsche Bank AG (Stadt Salzburg) – Mobilität
• Sto Ges.m.b.H. (Villach/Kärnten) – Bauen & Wohnen
• Styria Print Group Graz & St. Veit (Graz, Steiermark) – Druck – EU Ecolabel
• Wiener Tourismusverband – Vienna City Card (3. Bezirk, Wien) – Mobilität

Kategorie Meetings & Events
• Emilie Kleinszig Events (7. Bezirk, Wien)
• Event Services RS GmbH (Wattens, Tirol)
• SoFresh Touristik GmbH (St. Johann/Haide, Steiermark)
• White Elephant Events e.U. (Graz, Steiermark)


*Wenn nicht gesondert angeführt, wurde das Österreichische Umweltzeichen verliehen


Seit mehr als 30 Jahren eine verlässliche Orientierungshilfe im Umwelt- und Klimaschutz

Für die Österreicherinnen und Österreicher bedeutet das Österreichische Umweltzeichen eine Garantie für umweltfreundliche Produkte und trägt zum leichteren umweltfreundlichen Einkauf bei. Produkte und Dienstleistungen, die diese Auszeichnung erhalten, erfüllen strenge Umweltkriterien, die durch ein unabhängiges Gesamtgutachten nachgewiesen werden müssen.

Insgesamt gibt es bereits 1.300 Lizenznehmer aus den verschiedensten Branchen, die die dynamische Entwicklung und hohe Akzeptanz des Öko-Siegels unterstreichen. Im Tourismussektor steht das Österreichische Umweltzeichen für konsequente nachhaltige Betriebsführung in ausgezeichneten Hotels, Gastronomiebetrieben, Campingplätzen und Schutzhütten sowie bei den verschiedensten Veranstaltungen, die als Green Meeting oder Green Event organisiert werden. Nachhaltige Tourismusregionen sowie Reiseangebote runden das Portfolio im Fremdenverkehrssektor ab. Ausgezeichnete Schulen, Kindergärten und Bildungseinrichtungen wiederum stehen für eine neue Qualität in der Bildungsarbeit. Ihnen allen ist Klimaschutz und gelebte Nachhaltigkeit ein wichtiges Anliegen. Im Bereich Kunst und Kultur können sich Theater, Museen, Kinos sowie Film- und TV-Produktionen mit dem Umweltsiegel zertifizieren lassen. Am europäischen Markt dient das EU Ecolabel seit 30 Jahren als einheitliche Kennzeichnung für umweltfreundliche Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Tourismusbetriebe.