Federal Minister Gewessler opens the Energiesparmesse Wels

This year, the Energiesparmesse Wels was all about ecology, renewable energy and energy efficiency. On Friday, March 6, Federal Minister Leonore Gewessler opened the trade fair. During the opening ceremony, in the presence of more than 200 invited VIP guests, ten companies from the energy, construction, tourism, finance and lifestyle sectors were awarded with the Austrian Ecolabel.

30 years jubilee

On the occasion of its 30th anniversary, the Austrian Ecolabel made its third stop on its Green Tour through the federal provinces at the Wels Energiesparmesse. During this tour, Federal Minister Leonore Gewessler awarded the Austrian Eco-Label to sustainable companies. "Ecological and renewable energy and energy efficiency are very important to me. My goal is therefore to make Austria climate-neutral by 2040", said Federal Minister Gewessler. "The Austrian Ecolabel has been actively supporting this project for 30 years."

Another ten Austrian companies honoured

"With the Austrian Ecolabel, companies are making a long-term commitment to environmental and climate protection", Gewessler praises the companies. The ten awarded companies show that environmental protection is not only known by one industry. The Gröbming power plant, for example, was awarded the "Green Electricity Ecolabel". For wood heating systems, the company Lohberger Heiz- und Kochgeräte Technologie GmbH, SL Technik GmbH | Sommerauer, was awarded the Ecolabel. Harreither Ges.m.b.H and Paletten Winter GmbH from the field of building and living were certified. The tourism and leisure industry is also greener with the Kitzmantelfabrik and the Veltlinerland Camping Poysdorf. In addition, the Legero shoe factory, Raiffeisenbank Gunskirchen eGen as well as Stand out System Standbau GmbH were awarded. A total of 450 companies and 4,100 products and services already meet the strict criteria. The more than 1,095 licensees demonstrate the dynamic development and high acceptance of the Austrian Ecolabel among Austrian companies.

High demand

Consumer demand for green products is high. It is important for Mr and Mrs Austrians not only to know where the product comes from, but also how it is produced. The willingness and interest to buy green products isn`t just a short-lived trend. Companies that are certified with the Austrian Ecolabel make an important contribution to Austrian environmental protection and at the same time secure a green competitive advantage for themselves.

The award-winning companies at a glance

Green electricity

Exhibition stand construction

Heating

Building and living

Shoes/textiles

Financial products

Tourism and leisure industry

A reliable guide to environmental and climate protection for 30 years

For Austrians, the Austrian Ecolabel is a guarantee for environmentally friendly products and contributes to easier environmentally friendly shopping. Products and services that receive this award meet strict environmental criteria that must be verified by an independent overall assessment.

A total of 1,100 licensees from a wide range of industries have already been awarded the Ecolabel, underlining the dynamic development and high acceptance of the Ecolabel.

In the tourism sector, the Austrian Ecolabel stands for consistent sustainable business management in award-winning hotels, restaurants, campsites and refuges as well as at various events organised as Green Meetings or Green Events. Excellent schools, kindergartens and educational institutions stand for a new quality in educational work.

For all of them, climate protection and lived sustainability is an important concern.

© Messe Wels/Simlinger

Bundesministerin Gewessler eröffnet die Energiesparmesse Wels

Die Energiesparmesse Wels stand heuer ganz im Zeichen von Ökologie, erneuerbarer Energie und Energieeffizienz. Am Freitag, den 6. März eröffnete Frau Bundesministerin Leonore Gewessler die Fachmesse. Im Rahmen der Eröffnungsfeier wurden in Anwesenheit von über 200 geladenen VIP-Gästen zehn Betriebe aus den Bereichen Energie, Bauen, Tourismus, Finanz und Lifestyle ausgezeichnet.

30 jähriges Jubiläum

Anlässlich seines 30-jährigen Bestehens machte das Österreichische Umweltzeichen auf seiner Green Tour durch die Bundesländer auf der Welser Energiesparmesse bereits seine dritte Station. Dabei wurden von Bundesministerin Leonore Gewessler nachhaltige Betriebe mit dem Österreichischen Umweltzeichen ausgezeichnet. „Ökologische und erneuerbare Energie sowie Energieeffizienz liegen mir persönlich sehr am Herzen. Mein Ziel ist daher, dass Österreich bis 2040 klimaneutral wird“, so Bundesministerin Gewessler. „Das Österreichische Umweltzeichen trägt dabei seit 30 Jahren aktiv zur Unterstützung dieses Vorhabens bei.“

Weitere zehn österreichische Betriebe ausgezeichnet

„Mit dem Österreichischen Umweltzeichen setzen Unternehmen langfristig auf Umwelt- und Klimaschutz“, lobt Gewessler die Unternehmen. Die zehn ausgezeichneten Betriebe zeigen, dass Umweltschutz nicht nur die eine Branche kennt. So wurde das E-Werk Gröbming für seinen "Umweltzeichen-Grünen Strom" ausgezeichnet. Für Holzheizungen bekamen die Firma Lohberger Heiz- und Kochgeräte Technologie GmbH, SL Technik GmbH | Sommerauer, das Umweltzeichen. Aus dem Bereich Bauen und Wohnen wurden Harreither Ges.m.b.H und Paletten Winter GmbH zertifiziert. Auch die Tourismus- und Freizeitbranche ist mit der Kitzmantelfabrik und dem Veltlinerland Camping Poysdorf um zwei Betriebe grüner. Zusätzlich wurden die Legero Schuhfabrik, Raiffeisenbank Gunskirchen eGen sowie die Stand out System Standbau GmbH ausgezeichnet. Insgesamt erfüllen bereits 450 Unternehmen sowie 4.100 Produkte und Dienstleistungen die strengen Kriterien. Die über 1095 Lizenznehmern zeigen dabei die dynamische Entwicklung und hohe Akzeptanz des Österreichischen Umweltzeichens unter den heimischen Unternehmen.

Nachfrage ist groß

Die Nachfrage seitens der Konsumenten nach grünen Produkten ist groß. Es ist für Herr und Frau Österreicher nicht nur wichtig zu wissen, wo das Produkt herkommt, sondern auch wie es hergestellt wird. Die Bereitschaft und das Interesse grüne Produkte zu erwerben, ist damit schon lange nicht mehr nur ein kurzlebiger Trend. Unternehmen, die mit dem Österreichischen Umweltzeichen zertifiziert sind, leisten einen wichtigen Beitrag zum österreichischen Umweltschutz und sichern sich gleichzeitig auch einen grünen Wettbewerbsvorteil.

Die ausgezeichneten Betriebe im Überblick

Grüner Strom

  • E-Werk Gröbming KG, Liezen/Steiermark

Messebau

  • Stand out System Standbau GmbH, Salzburg Stadt/Salzburg

Heizen

  • Lohberger Heiz- und Kochgeräte Technologie GmbH, Braunau am Inn/Oberösterreich
  • SL-Technik GmbH | Sommerauer, Braunau am Inn/Oberösterreich

Bauen und Wohnen

  • Harreither Ges.m.b.H, Steyr/Oberösterreich
  • Paletten Winter GmbH, Bruck an der Leitha/Niederösterreich

Schuhe/Textilien

  • Legero Schuhfabrik GmbH, Graz-Umgebung/Steiermark

Finanzprodukte

  • Raiffeisenbank Gunskirchen eGen, Wels/Oberösterreich

Tourismus und Freizeitwirtschaft

  • Kitzmantelfabrik, Gmunden/Oberösterreich
  • Veltlinerland Camping Poysdorf; Mistelbach/Niederösterreich

Seit 30 Jahren eine verlässliche Orientierungshilfe im Umwelt- und Klimaschutz

Für die Österreicherinnen und Österreicher bedeutet das Österreichische Umweltzeichen eine Garantie für umweltfreundliche Produkte und trägt zum leichteren umweltfreundlichen Einkauf bei. Produkte und Dienstleistungen, die diese Auszeichnung erhalten, erfüllen strenge Umweltkriterien, die durch ein unabhängiges Gesamtgutachten nachgewiesen werden müssen.

Insgesamt gibt es bereits 1.100 Lizenznehmer aus den verschiedensten Branchen, die die dynamische Entwicklung und hohe Akzeptanz des Öko-Siegels unterstreichen.

Im Tourismussektor steht das Österreichische Umweltzeichen für konsequente nachhaltige Betriebsführung in ausgezeichneten Hotels, Gastronomiebetrieben, Campingplätzen und Schutzhütten sowie bei den verschiedensten Veranstaltungen, die als Green Meeting oder Green Event organisiert werden. Ausgezeichnete Schulen, Kindergärten und Bildungseinrichtungen stehen für eine neue Qualität in der Bildungsarbeit.

Ihnen allen ist Klimaschutz und gelebte Nachhaltigkeit ein wichtiges Anliegen.