Ecolabel and EU Ecolabel Awarded to Ruhehotel Rehbach. Copyright by BMK/StW.

46 new green companies awarded the Austrian Ecolabel

46 companies from the fields of finance, tourism, film and TV production, educational institutions as well as from sectors such as construction & housing, cosmetics and paper processing were awarded the Austrian Ecolabel for sustainable products and services on 26 April at the Federal Ministry for Climate Protection, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology in Vienna. Eleven of the companies also received the EU Ecolabel. The award was presented at the ceremony by Climate Protection Minister Leonore Gewessler.

The Austrian Ecolabel stands for a consistent orientation towards environmental protection and sustainability and has been the most important state-approved environmental label in Austria for more than 30 years. For the award ceremony on 26 April at the Federal Ministry for Climate Protection, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology, 46 licensees from a wide range of industries were present. "I am pleased that we were able to welcome such a large number of company representatives at today's award ceremony, who are making a great and important contribution to climate-friendly business with their efforts to obtain the Austrian Ecolabel and EU Ecolabel," said Climate Protection Minister Leonore Gewessler at the event.

Federal Minister Leonore Gewessler at the Ecolabel Award Ceremony on 26.4.2022. Copyright by BMK/StW.

Green commitment

The Austrian Ecolabel and EU Ecolabel are awarded to those environmentally friendly products and services in the fields of tourism, education and green meetings & events that meet a number of environmental criteria such as quality and durability and successfully pass a corresponding test. At the award ceremony on 26 April, 46 companies from all over Austria as well as one German company were pleased to receive the eco-labels.

Austria's tourism goes green

20 of the award-winning companies from Carinthia, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Salzburg, Styria, Tyrol, Vorarlberg and Vienna come from the tourism branche: in addition to hotels, accommodation facilities, restaurants and catering businesses, community catering as well as providers of green travel offers and green locations also received the Austrian Ecolabel - eleven companies also accepted the European equivalent, the EU Ecolabel.

Film industry and education focus on a sustainable future

Four film and TV productions from Vienna and Lower Austria received the Environmental Label for Green Producing. Furthermore, eight educational institutions - including schools, kindergartens and extracurricular educational institutions - from Carinthia, Upper Austria, Styria and Vienna were awarded for their efforts in green and sustainable education.

Green Products

In the field of Green Finance, eight providers of sustainable financial products based in Vienna, Linz and Düsseldorf were awarded the Austrian Ecolabel. Four companies from Salzburg, which manufacture products in the categories Building & Living, as well as the cosmetics manufacturer Ringana and the paper processing company Kliemstein from Eastern Styria were also among the award-winning companies.

Austrian Ecolabel and EU Ecolabel boards. Copyright by BMK/StW.

Award-winning companies at a glance

Category Tourism

Category Education

Category Financal Products

Category Green Producing

Category Products

Umweltzeichen und EU Ecolabel Verleihung Ruhehotel Rehbach
© BMK/StW

46 neue grüne Unternehmen mit dem Österreichischen Umweltzeichen ausgezeichnet

Umweltministerin Leonore Gewessler überreicht an 46 Unternehmen in den Bereichen Produkte, Tourismus, Film- und TV-Produktion und  Bildungseinrichtungen am 26. April im Klimaschutzministerium das Österreichische Umweltzeichen. 11 der Unternehmen erhielten darüber hinaus das EU Ecolabel. 

Das Österreichische Umweltzeichen steht für eine konsequente Orientierung an Umweltschutz und Nachhaltigkeit und ist seit mehr als 30 Jahren das wichtigste staatlich geprüfte Umweltsiegel in Österreich. Für die Verleihung am 26. April im Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie hatten sich 46 Lizenznehmer:innen aus den unterschiedlichsten Branchen eingefunden. „Ich freue mich, dass wir bei der heutigen Verleihung eine so große Anzahl an Unternehmensvertreter:innen begrüßen durften, die mit ihren Bemühungen rund um die Erlangung des Österreichischen Umweltzeichens und EU Ecolabels einen tollen und wichtigen Beitrag zum klimafreundlichen Wirtschaften leisten“, so Klimaschutzministerin Leonore Gewessler anlässlich der Veranstaltung.

Bundesministerin Leonore Gewessler bei der Umweltzeichen Verleihung am 26.4.2022
© BMK/StW

Grünes Engagement

Die Auszeichnung mit dem Österreichischen Umweltzeichen und EU Ecolabel erhalten jene umweltschonenden Produkte und Angebote aus den Bereichen Tourismus, Bildung und Green Meetings & Events, die eine Reihe an Umweltkriterien wie Qualität und Langlebigkeit erfüllen und eine entsprechende Überprüfung erfolgreich absolvieren. Bei der Verleihung am 26. April konnten sich 46 Unternehmen aus ganz Österreich sowie ein deutsches Unternehmen über die Auszeichnung mit den Umweltsiegeln freuen.

Österreichs Tourismus wird grün

20 der ausgezeichneten Unternehmen aus Kärnten, Niederösterreich, Oberösterreich, Salzburg, Steiermark, Tirol, Vorarlberg und Wien stammen aus der Tourismusbranche: Neben Hotels, Beherbergungsbetrieben, Gastronomie- und Catering-Betrieben erhielten auch Gemeinschaftsverpflegungen sowie Anbieter:innen von grünen Reiseangeboten und Green Locations das Österreichische Umweltzeichen – elf Unternehmen nahmen auch das europäische Pendent, das EU Ecolabel, entgegen.

Filmbranche und Bildung setzen auf eine nachhaltige Zukunft

Vier Film- und TV-Produktionen aus Wien und Niederösterreich nahmen das Umweltsiegel für Green Producing entgegen. Weiters wurden acht Bildungseinrichtungen – darunter Schulen, Kindergärten und außerschulische Bildungsstätten – aus Kärnten, Oberösterreich, Steiermark und Wien für Ihre Bemühungen für grüne und nachhaltige Bildung ausgezeichnet.

Grüne Produkte

Im Bereich Green Finance konnten sich acht Anbieter:innen von nachhaltigen Finanzprodukten mit Sitz in Wien, Linz und Düsseldorf konnten sich über das Österreichische Umweltzeichen freuen. Vier Salzburger Unternehmen, die Produkte aus den Kategorien Bauen & Wohnen herstellen, sowie der Kosmetikhersteller Ringana und der Papierverarbeitungsbetrieb Kliemstein aus der Oststeiermark waren ebenfalls unter den ausgezeichneten Betrieben.

Umweltzeichen und Ecolabel Tafeln
© BMK/StW

Ausgezeichnete Unternehmen im Überblick

Kategorie Tourismus

Kategorie Bildung

Kategorie Finanzprodukte

Kategorie Green Producing

Kategorie Produkte